ESL - English As A Second Language

The ESL Program at San Jose City College serves students who identify themselves as learners of English as a second language. Our program helps students of all ages and backgrounds achieve their education, employment, and lifelong-learning goals by providing them with instruction in English as a second language.


 

Placement in the ESL Program

All incoming ESL students are required to take the ESL Placement Test, which includes a short writing assignment. Students must also take the ESL Compass test, which includes a listening and reading component given on the computer. More information is available at the Assessment Center
For more information on How to Enroll, please click here or download the "How to Register in ESL Classes" document below.

ESL PROGRAM DESCRIPTION

The English as a Second Language Department offers a total of 13 core and 10 elective lecture courses that span 6 levels of language proficiency, from high-beginning to advanced, to teach the English language skills of writing and rhetoric, reading, listening, speaking, grammar, and pronunciation. Please access the ESL Program Chart for or more information. 

Courses are each offered twice a week, Monday-Wednesday or Tuesday-Thursday, in day or night sessions.  Each course has a number of set 'units', ranging from 3 to 6 units.  Each unit represents the number of hours in class time each week over the course of a 16-week semester.  For example, a 4-unit course meets for 2 hours twice a week.  One section of ESL 91 is offered online each semester, and most ESL courses are web-enhanced by instructors who use Moodle.

In addition to 23 lecture classes, ESL offers 8 required 0.5-unit lab courses (24 hours over a 16-week semester) that are linked to parent courses, as well as 4 other recommended 0-unit lab courses. Students have access to a fully-equipped multimedia ESL laboratory where they can fulfill their lab requirements.  Students can access the ESL lab course materials and numerous other links at www.eslstation.net when the on-campus lab is closed.

ESL Program Student Learning Outcomes

  • Use English for a variety of educational, social, and  occupational purposes.
  • Recognize multiple perspectives and values inherent in our culturally diverse society.
  • Apply critical thinking and analytical skills to expand learning.
  • Demonstrate the ability to use information technology.

 

 

 

 

​Contact Us

Keiko Kimura

Dean, Language Arts

(408) 298-2181 x3719

Office

General Education, Room 206

Keiko Kimura

 

Fulltime Faculty

 

Dongmei Cao

Dongmei.Cao@sjcc.edu

 

Margarita Mitevska

Margarita.Mitevska@sjcc.edu

 

Patricia Nguyen

Patricia.Nguyen@sjcc.edu

 

Dorothy Pucay

Dorothy.Pucay@sjcc.edu

 

Leslie Rice

Leslie.Rice@sjcc.edu

 

Novella Simonson

Novella.Simonson@sjcc.edu

 

Leslie Takei

Leslie.Takei@sjcc.edu

 

Christine Trombly

Christine.Trombly@sjcc.edu

 

SJCC Supporting Page
San Jose City College
Show