Communication Studies

​ Communication Studies

 

We are excited to share that the new Associate of Arts degree for Transfer in Communication Studies will be offered in Fall 2014!

 


Communication Studies courses are an essential component of your core General Education degree requirements.

Take classes with us and learn to communicate effectively on many different levels through public speaking, community engagement, group situations, cross-cultural contexts, persuading others, and in work, family and relationships.  Our classes emphasize active learning and support the college mission for social justice through collaboration with the President’s Community Arts and Lectures Program. In every Communication course you will examine current communication theories and apply communication skills to your life.
COMMUNICATION STUDIES COURSES

Coms 010 Interpersonal Communication

Coms 018 Introduction to Communication (Theory)

Coms 020 Oral Communication

Coms 035 Intercultural Communication

Coms 040 Argumentation and Debate

Coms 045 Small Group Communication


 

Communication Studies Student Learning Outcomes

 

  • Express and convey messages clearly for effective oral communication.

  • Demonstrate effective listening skills to comprehend  spoken messages, analyze information critically, and consider multiple perspectives.

  • Demonstrate knowledge of communication technology and its impact on human communication practices.

  • Participate in the civic life of their communities through public address, and civic engagement and involvement.

  • Respect and encourage freedom of expression and defend its centrality to the democratic process.

  • Apply interpersonal skills to create and maintain successful and beneficial social and civic relationships.

  • Apply creative brainstorming techniques in group communication and creative themes,introductions, conclusions, and visual aids within speeches.

 

​Contact Us

Christina Avila
Christina.Avila@sjcc.edu


 

Stephen Eckstone
Stephen.Eckstone@sjcc.edu


 

Katherine Ireland
Katherine.Ireland@sjcc.edu


 

Anya Iyengar
Anya.Iyengar@sjcc.edu


 

Jessica Johnson
Jessica.Johnson@sjcc.edu


 

Leslyn McCallum
Leslyn.McCallum@sjcc.edu


 

Merylee Shelton
Merylee.Shelton@sjcc.edu

 

SJCC Supporting Page
San Jose City College
Show