Computer Applications

Computer Applications

Take a course offered in the Computer Applications department to enhance and demonstrate your computing skills! Successful Computer Applications students prove their competency and mastery in:

  • Word Processing, using Word to compose documents, create mail merges, make quality business brochures, and create portfolios of business documents
  • Spreadsheet Management, using Excel to calculate large spreadsheets, generate charts, and use formulas
  • Database Management, using Access to manage large amounts of data, generate reports, and create queries
  • Presentation Techniques, using PowerPoint and Prezi to create state-of-the-art, professional presentations
  • Email and Calendaring, using Outlook to effectively write professional e-mails, organize calendars, and improve organizational skills

San Jose City College currently offers an Associate in Science (AS) Degree and three levels of Certificates in Computer Applications. Students who complete all three Certificates or the AS Degree will be well-prepared for the Microsoft Office Specialist and Expert Level (MOS) Exams, the globally-recognized standard in Microsoft desktop certification.

By successfully completing our courses, students demonstrate their computing skills needed in the modern workplace. Employers around the world know that it is a smart decision to hire qualified candidates; a certificate or AS degree can be an employee's ticket to better career opportunities. 

For more information, contact Business & Workforce Development at (408) 288-3131.

​Resources:

AS Computer Applications

Computer Applications Certificate Level 1

Computer Applications Certificate Level 2

Computer Applications Certificate Level 3

Contacts

Contacts for program information:

Division Counselor

Julie Nguyen

408-298-2181 ext. 3440
julie.nguyen@sjcc.edu


Job Development & Placement Specialist
Steven Lee

408-298-2181 ext. 3529
steven.lee@sjcc.edu


Associate Director
Dr. Christine Jensen

408-288-3199
christine.jensen@sjcc.edu

 

Faculty

Mark Branom

408-298-2181 ext. 3235
mark.branom@sjcc.edu

 

Instructors

Christina Johnson

christina.johnson@sjcc.edu


Srinivasan Mandyam

srinivasan.mandyam@sjcc.edu

SJCC Supporting Page
San Jose City College
Show