Computer Applications

Computer Applications

Students earning Certificates and/or an Associate degree in Computer Applications can expect a smooth school-to-work transition. Students will acquire skill sets in Microsoft Office Applications, Internet research skills, multi-tasking, written and verbal communication skills, and the ability to work well in a fast-paced business environment. The majority of computer application classes are held in a self-paced learning lab and offered on an open entry-exit basis. Open enrollment occurs until  the 12th week of the semester. Multiple courses can be taken until that date.

 

Computer Application courses prepare students to take Microsoft Office Specialist (MOS) exams or comparable exams at various test-taking centers. After successful completion of the tests, students receive certification from Microsoft authenticating their skills.

 

Our classrooms and labs are equipped with PCs, Windows XP, and a host of up-to date application software. Instructors and instructional support staff are extremely knowledgeable, personable, professional, and available to assist students in the computer applications classrooms.

 

The Computer Applications Department works with local high school districts in the Tech Prep Program which connects high school with post secondary institutions and industry. Courses taught at high schools are compared with similar courses taught at a community college and participating students receive college credit in those courses.

 

For more information, contact Business & Workforce Development at (408) 288-3131.

Contacts

Contacts for program information:

Division Counselors

Maricela Martinez

408-288-3798

maricela.martinez@sjcc.edu

 

Christina Nguyen

408-298-2181, ex 3591

 christina.nguyen@sjcc.edu

 

 

Maria Plancarte

408-288-3172

maria.plancarte@sjcc.edu

 

 

Faculty

Mark Branom

mark.branom@sjcc.edu

 

Instructors

 

Meeta Upadhyay

meeta.upadhyay@sjcc.edu

 

Gerry Weiner

gerry.weiner@sjcc.edu

 

Sharon Youngblood

sharon.youngblood@sjcc.edu

 

 

SJCC Supporting Page
San Jose City College
Show