Machine Technology

Machine Technology

Welcome to Machine Technology at San José City College!

The contributions of the American machinist are felt in nearly every facet of industry - from the production of nuts and bolts measuring within one one-thousandth of an inch in accuracy - to a full scale space shuttle.


Accuracy is the byword of any machined product. After reading blueprints, the machinist must take raw material, and form and fabricate it into a finished machined part. It must meet exact mechanical specifications of the blueprint or electronic solid model. In the development of prototypes, machinists may be working with engineers as a team member.


Machinists must have the skills to operate different types of manual machine tools including mills, lathes, drill presses and grinders. In newer shops, machinists operate CNC (Computer Numeric Control) versions of the manual machines listed previously. Metals such as steel, cast iron and aluminum, plastics, and composite materials are machined. San José City College offers courses that allow students to work with the type of equipment used in industry to get the skills that will get them jobs.


The best employment opportunities for machinists are in urban areas in the San Francisco Bay Area, which pay higher than average salaries.

Machine tool operators may advance to highly skilled machinists, tool and die makers, instrument makers, machine programmers or machine shop owners.


We offer both a daytime accelerated and evening program.

 

Ask About Our Accelerated Job Training for

CNC Machine Operator!

​Resources:

AS Machine Technology

CNC Machine Operator Level 1

CNC, CAD/CAM Machinist Certificate Level 2

Entry Level Machinist Level 2

​Contact Us

Contacts for program information:

Division Counselor

Maria Plancarte

408-288-3172
maria.plancarte@sjcc.edu


Job Development & Placement Specialist
Steven Lee

408-298-2181 ext. 3529
steven.lee@sjcc.edu


Associate Director
Christiaan Desmond

408-288-3192
christiaan.desmond@sjcc.edu


Faculty

Isai Ulate

(408) 288-2181 ex. 3836
isai.ulate@sjcc.edu

 

Instructors

Tom Chu

tom.chu@sjcc.edu


Homayoun Hekmatpanah

homayoun.hekmatpanah@sjcc.edu


Chris March

chris.march@sjcc.edu


Calvin Sellers

calvin.sellers@sjcc.edu


Jerome Sorich

jerome.sorich@sjcc.edu

SJCC Supporting Page
San Jose City College
Show