Medical Assisting

Medical Assisting

Unleash your Brilliance: San Jose City College nursing student

Start a Career in the Rapidly Growing Healthcare Industry!

The Medical Assisting Program at San Jose City College prepares students for employment as a Clinical or Administrative Medical Assistant in a doctor's office, clinic, or hospital. 

Students may join the program during Spring, Summer, or Fall sessions on a part-time or full-time basis. students may elect to complete an Associate of Science degree or one of three career certificates:

  • Administrative and Clinical Certificate
  • Clinical Certificate
  • Administrative Certificate

Upon successful completion of the program, students are qualified to sit for National Certified Medical Assistant (NCMA) or National Certified Medical Office Assistant (NCMOA) examinations offered by National Center for Competency Testing (NCCT).  

Students are also qualified to sit for the California Certified Medical Assistant Exam (CCMA) through the California Certifying Board of Medical Assistants (CCBMA).

 



COURSES NEEDED for Certificate OR DEGREE

Click to view desired Certificate and Degree Requirements:

MEDICAL ASSISTING: ADMINISTRATIVE E

MEDICAL ASSISTING: CLINICAL

​Medical Offices complete the form below to inform the SJCC Medical Assisting Program of your job opening.

​Contact Us

Contacts for program information:

 Division Counselors

Maricela Martinez

408-288-3798

Maricela.martinez@sjcc.edu

Faculty

Jagrup Kahlon

(408) 298-2181 ex. 3403

Jagrup.Kahlon@sjcc.edu

Instructors

Rosemary Bautista

rosemary.bautista@sjcc.edu

Denis Golubev

denis.golubev@sjcc.edu

Donna Ovens

donna.ovens@sjcc.edu

Georgi Tatarski

georgi.tatarski@sjcc.edu

​MEDICAL OFFICES:

To post a medical office job opening, please complete the Online Job Request Form at the bottom of this page. 

Externship Placements

If you are interested in having a student extern at your facility, please email jagrup.kahlon@sjcc.edu

ResourcesCalifornia Certifying Board for Medical Assistants

National Center for Competency Testing

For Immunizations Visit Our Student Health Center

 

BLS Provider Course 

through AHA


SJCC Supporting Page
San Jose City College
Show