English

English Department

Jumpstart your college education with the English department!  College composition courses are required for all Associate degrees and to transfer to a four-year college or university.  We offer high quality
teaching, small class sizes and a commitment to your success.  We invite you to explore the vast world of literature from the great British giants to contemporary Chicano writers.  Unleash your creativity through poetry, fiction or memoir writing and discover your own literary voice.

ENGLISH COURSES

ENGL 001A English Composition

ENGL 001B English Composition

ENGL 001C Critical Thinking/Composition

ENGL 010 Great Works of Literature

ENGL 033 Women in Literature

ENGL 065 The Short Story

ENGL 071A Fundamentals of Creative Writing/Poetry

ENGL 071B Fundamentals of Creative Writing/Fiction

ENGL 071C Fundamentals of Creative Writing/Drama

ENGL 073 Introduction to Shakespeare

ENGL 079 Memoir Writing

ENGL 080 Mexican American Literature

ENGL 081 Introduction to African American Literature

ENGL 084A Survey of American Literature

ENGL 084B Survey of American Literature

ENGL 086A Survey of English Literature I

ENGL 086B Survey of English Literature II

ENGL 092 Essay Development

ENGL 335 Basic Writing Skills

English Program Student Learning Outcomes

  • Rhetorical Competence

  • Critical and Analytical Reasoning

  • Ability to Use MLA Style

  • Appreciation of Diverse Forms of Literature

  • Ability to Use Technology

Contact Us

Full-Time Faculty

Michelle Blair
Faculty, English
Michelle.Blair@sjcc.edu


Jessica Breheny
Faculty, English
Jessica.Breheny@sjcc.edu


Javier Chapa
Faculty, English
Javier.Chapa@sjcc.edu


Charles Heimler
Faculty, English
Charles.Heimler@sjcc.edu

Scott K. Inguito
Faculty,
English
Scott.Inguito@sjcc.edu


Heidi Kozlowski
Faculty, English
Heidi.Kozlowski@sjcc.edu


Cynthia Solem
Faculty, English
Cynthia.Solem@sjcc.edu


Noe Torres
Faculty, English
Noe.Torres@sjeccd.edu

SJCC Supporting Page
San Jose City College
Show