Administration and Leadership

SJCC Administrators

The San Jose City College Administrators are a team of highly skilled, educated, and passionate professionals dedicated to the success of our students, our college, and our communities. SJCC Code of Ethics.  The SJCC executive staff is comprised of the President, Vice President of Academic Affairs, Vice President of Student Affairs, and Vice President of Administrative Services. Below is a list of all of the SJCC Administrators. 




Dr. Rowena M. Tomaneng



Room #GE-107

(408) 288-3725

Mr. Daniel Garza, Director, Marketing and Public Relations

Mr. Daniel Rivera Garza

Director, Marketing and Public Relations

Room #T-414

(408) 288-3163


 Dr. Elizabeth Pratt, Vice President, Academic Affairs

Dr. Elizabeth Pratt

Vice President, Academic Affairs


Room #B-105

(408) 288 – 3142

Language Arts

Dr. Celia Cruz-Johnson, Dean

Room #GE-206T

(408)288 – 3719

Library, LRC, & Distance Ed


Room #L-205

(408) 288 – 3115

Math & Science

Mr. Robert Gutierrez, Interim Dean

Room #S102

(408) 288 -3716

Social Science & Humanities

Dr. Ilder Betancourt Lopez, Dean

Room #A-108


Metas Program

Dr. Elizabeth Gonzalez, Interim Director

Room #M-105

(408) 288-3762

Research, Planning & Institutional Effectiveness

 Dr. Joyce Lui, Dean

Room #L-111

(408) 288 – 3519


Roland Montemayor

Vice President, Student Affairs

Room #SC-201

(408) 288 – 3146

Admission and Records

Ms. Teresa Paiz, Director

Student Center 1st Floor

(408) 288 – 3791

Financial Aid

Mr. Takeo Kubo, Director

Room #SC-103A

(408) 288 – 3733

Counseling & Matriculation

Dr. Eliazer Ayala-Austin, Dean

Room #SC-201

(408) 288 – 3137

Student Development & Activities

Mr. Blake Balajadia

Room #SC-115i

(408) 288 – 3160

Student Accessibility Services (SAS)

Dr. Edina Rutland, Associate Director

Room #SC-106

(408) 831 – 3131

Administrative Services Division
Ms. Marilyn Morikang, Vice President Administrative Services (acting)

Ms. Marilyn Morikang

Vice President, Administrative Services (Acting)

Room #B-101

(408) 288 – 3187


Mr. Joe Andrade, Manager  

Room  #CT-108

(408) 288-3159


Young Nguyen, Supervisor

Room  #GE-106

(408) 408-288-3774


Deanna Herrera, Interim Director of College Fiscal Services

Room  #B-101

(408) 288-3107


Thiphavanh (Priscilla) Louangrath,  Interim Supervisor

Room #B-101

(408) 288-3773

 Dr. Lena Tan, Vice President, Strategic Partnerships and Workforce Innovation

Dr. Lena Tran

Vice President, Strategic Partnerships and Workforce Innovation

Room #T-109

(408) 288-3180


Business & Workforce

Dr. Minh-Hoa Ta, Dean

Room T-101

(408) 288 – 3191

Associate Director, Business & Workforce

Dr. Christine Jensen

Room #T-117

(408) 288 – 3199

Associate Director, Business & Workforce

Dr. Christiaan Desmond

Room #T-106

(408) 288 -3192



San Jose Evergreen Community College District leadership

San Jose City College is a part of the San Jose-Evergreen Community College District. The district is led by Dr. Byron D. Clift Breland, Interim Chancellor. The Chancellor’s Office provides the coordination and leadership essential for merging the needs of the community and the educational resources of the San José-Evergreen Community College District (SJECCD). 

Along with the Chancellor, a seven-member elected Board of Trustees is responsible for overseeing the educational needs of the District. San José City College, Evergreen Valley College, the Workforce Institute, and the District Office work in partnership with the Chancellor, the Governing Board, and the community to create educational opportunities for students. For more information about the Leadership of the San Jose-Evergreen Community College District, please visit the District Website.  

The Board of Trustees meets the second Tuesday of every month unless special circumstances apply. For more information about the Board of Trustees, Board Meetings, Agendas, and other information, please visit the District Website.



SJCC Supporting Page
San Jose City College